A Dream Continued

For you, O LORD, have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling, that I may walk before the LORD in the land of the living. Psalm 116:7-9

My first post on this blog was A Recent Dream of Mine where I in part described my love of theology and art and why I would love to both go back to school (in a sense), and teach others and see them bloom.

There was a moment shortly after I wrote that post where I got particularly excited and despite still going with the “God hasn’t told us, we do not know, we have no definite plans” statement.. well, I wrote a syllabus.

I wrote an entire syllabus plus some rather in-depth lesson plans without having at all spoken about the structure of classes, what was required, etc, etc. This means that actually the actual style/shape of the lessons and my (possible) time at New College could be very different to what I thought about. Even so it was exciting.

It became even more exciting when I realised, post-research, that I could be creating a brand new course, one that does not exist in the UK, and which could be extremely relevant to todays Christian population. Hence I wrote it, and sent it to my dear friend Pickles (who incidentally told me we would chat about it when it was a certain choice for us – he’s a very sensible man!), and now I am asking all of you – would this work?

– Studio Practice: Art & Faith
Aim: to choose a topic and explore it in a faith orientated way within a sketchbook with external pieces if required. Over the term the student should show development of ideas, improvement of practice, and biblical and faith values throughout, finally coming to a conclusion and final piece.
30% marked on portfolio of work

History of Art: God & Image
Working through the history of Christian Art, and a little BC: Jewish art, and what it says about the Church and belief of the time. We will be focussing on 1-3 pieces specifically, with a small portion given to practical transposition and discussion. An essay will be required at the end of term on a subject chosen and approved by the teacher.
30% marked on essay

Interdisciplinary Study: Art & evangelism/prayer/biblical interpretation/pastoral care/etc
We will be discussing the possibility of art being used a variety of ministry aspects, how symbolism is used in design, and how art can shine a light on aspects of faith. Group work will be attempted on each topic and reflective journal.
30% marked on group work and reflective journal.

10% on final exhibition of all works displayed
It's all about trying to reach out to God using art

Would this be interesting? Can you imagine enjoying these classes and gaining from them? Can you see them being practical relevant to life after college?

I would love to know your views as it would be the first time I went anywhere near doing this. It would be good to know too, first there are places to do this kind of study in the UK that I don’t know about. Let me know – then I can learn too.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Join in the discussion!

