Psalms Lecture 6: Psalm 13

THE FOLLOWING ARE NOTES FOR LECTURES GIVEN AT NEW COLLEGE, BIRMINGHAM. I AM NOT AN EXPERT AND BOOKS WILL BE CREDITED TO SHOW WHERE MY INFORMATION IS COMING FROM. IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, COMMENT ON THIS POST AND I WILL TRY MY BEST TO ANSWER.

~*~

For the director of music. A psalm of David.

How long, Lord? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and day after day have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

Look on me and answer, Lord my God.
Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death,
and my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

But I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.
I will sing the Lord’s praise,
for he has been good to me.

To switch things up a bit, we are going to looks at this psalm together rather than me just lecturing to you. You have seen how I have split psalms up and looked into the detail, and now you will do so to. I have provided questions you might like to think about

Split the psalm into 3 parts and they work on it in small groups. Approx 15 minutes.
(This is something anyone can practice doing themselves, and is a good skill to learn when looking at texts of any kind.)

Part a: 1-2
Part b: 3-4
Part c: 5-6

  • Read the text a number of times.
  • Think about who is speaking? What does the text tell you about them?
  • Who are they speaking to?
  • Is this for them only or on behalf of other people?
  • What genre does this fit into?
  • What other passages does it remind you of?
  • Are there literary devices (repetition, metaphors, etc) seen in the text?
  • Now look into the commentaries and see what they say?
  • Do you agree, why/ why not?

We will then bring it together and see how we can look at it from start to finish.

  • What is the effect now that you have the whole psalm rather than just a small part?
  • The whole psalms structure, does it remind you of anything?
  • Anything you remember in relation to other psalms?

A few observations I made:

  • Time – how long, how long, how long
  • Past tense of The lord has been good
  • In the future I will sing another song
  • Light and dark, the feeling that god has turned his face away is a huge deal for David, it is life in comparison to death.
  • David will continue to praise in the hardest of situations, no matter what he has gone through he continues to praise.
  • Kidner, Derek. Psalms 1-72: An Introduction and Commentary on Book I and II of the Psalms (Inter-Varsity Press, England, 1973).
  • Spurgeon, C. H. The Treasury of David, Volume 1, Psalm I to LVII (Hendrickson Publishers, Massachusetts).
  • Society of Biblical Literature. The Harper Collins Study Bible (New Revised Standard Version).
  • Walton, John H. Chronolgical and Background Charts of the Old Testament (Zondervan, Michigan, 1978).
Join in the discussion!

