Life Is Short

If there’s one thing I’ve learnt over the last year is that life is short. Sometimes it sucks. Sometimes it takes your breath away. No matter which it is, or neither, everything disappears into the past remarkably quickly.

Funny example number 1 (I saw this on Facebook this morning):

Friends

I know it’s a silly example but that means I’ve lived 9 years of my life since I saw the last episode of Friends (which I remember pretty well). 9 years is a long time and yet it seems to have gone so fast. Since then I’ve finished school, graduated university, and got married just to name a few.

“Life is short” has been said to me through a number of different voices many times recently. And I have felt it strongly at certain times. I would say that sometimes this knowledge has made people (including me) act rashly. I would also say that in certain moments I’ve had the most fantastic clarity of my life.

This has inspired Bear and I to think about a number of changes in our lives.

One of these is how I’ve started to think about my art, particularly the brand side of it all. I had been thinking for a while that rather than my name or various additions (Arts & Craft, etc) don’t ever have that catch, logo-potential, or strength to continue for much more than a hobby. So I thought about my passions, my roots, and my style and came up with a name.

Ceilidh & Cwtch is a mixture between my Scottish and Welsh connections and together hints at the breadth of my work. Whereas Ceilidh (gathering, party, etc) rings of my event publicity, invitations and public design, Cwtch speaks of something more intimate, safe, secure and family orientated.

Over the last week I have taken the leap and started producing tartan-inspired card designs for valentine’s day.

It is terrifying. This is just one of a number of changes (including cutting down our possessions quite a lot) and it’s scary to say the least. I’ve just got to keep going and for some reassurance I keep finding quotations from a particularly impressive man like this one:

“When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like: “If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.” It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: “If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.”
Steve Jobs

Living each day like it’s your last can seem pessimistic, but actually can you imagine the things you’d do if it were the way you lived. Life is short. It was shorter than expected for Steve Jobs. It’s short when looking back on old Friends episodes. Sometimes it’s simply shorter than you want it to be. So why waste time when you can live life to the fullest.

One Comment Add yours

Join in the discussion!

