Planning A House Without The Pride

 

I love houses that become homes. I love how a building can start to symbolise who lives there and represent the life they are trying to live. This is a bit strange seeing as I was unbelievably bored by architecture in Art History classes. I think this is because the walls, the roofs, the structure, despite holding some intrinsic art and creativity, doesn’t mean anything without the people within it.

But I desperately want to build my own home.

When I was younger I played Sims not to puppeteer the characters, but to build the house. If I could I would even use cheat codes to remove the restrictive boundaries that money presented me with. I would create floorplans, then add beautiful walkways, artwork, rugs, anything I could to make the perfect house. It never worked but I tried. I used to dream about a house at night, wake up in the morning and desperately try to recreate it on Sims before it faded away.

In my head I have planned houses again and again, they have morphed and transformed with each new influence. Each show, each book, new technology or design style changes and adds to the dream house in my mind. It is as if there are rooms floating out in the ether just waiting for me to actually put them together, existing without the actual physicality… yet.

We are planning on building our home and are saving up the pennies, but I have come to the clear conclusion that I don’t want pride to be part of the design process. We don’t need praise or people’s comments. We won’t need big expensive luxuries which are unnecessary; instead I want a home: somewhere functional and comfortable where our family can grow in a community we love. I might love the design process but I don’t want to hoard wealth and collections of stuff to the detriment of the purpose of the house: to be a home.

So what are our priorities?

  1. Sustainable self sufficiency.

    We are aiming to make a place we can grow in and be safe. Safety isn’t just about locks on the doors, but the ability to look after your family in difficult situations. The basics needs of people are food, water and heat, and so we intend to create a home that is extremely energy efficient and gives us the opportunity to plant and cultivate food. In this way we hope to have a home that protects us from financial hard times and allows us to bless others in practical ways.

  2. Comfortable functionality.

    We want a home we love to be in, invite people into, but is efficiently functional to make life as easy as possible. Our plan is to build into our house simple nuances that cleverly make the everyday tasks a little bit easier. This may include hidden storage, multifunctional furniture, and more specifically accessibility details so that whether it be age, injury or disability we are able to live comfortably.

  3. Child-focused creativity.

    Bear and I want to create a home to pass on through our family, somewhere to encourage imagination, to make them laugh. We hope to give them something to lighten up life at home with surprises, with art, with space to encourage traditions of whimsy and fun.

What does this look like when planning a house? Good question, but we have been putting together some inspiration. Have a look!

home

 

What are your priorities? What makes the perfect home for you? Let me know in the comments!

Join in the discussion!

